Month 1 In Review

Review_Month1.jpg

Maybe everyone says this, but I’m surprised it’s been a month already! It wasn’t until I looked at the previous posts and noticed the “A month ago” on my first few blog posts that I realized I’ve made it to the one-month mark. [I’m throwing internal confetti!]

My goal is to see if I can sustain this project for a year, which would have me wrapping things up around the beginning of March 2017. However, for me to make it to the one-year mark, I know some things are going to have to change.

 

Things I’d like to improve:

Spend less time writing–> I can sit and write for a while, but right now I don’t have the time to spend two hours a day writing, and that’s how long I’ve been taking on the most recent posts lately, from start (When are they going to update today’s word of the day?) to finish (WordPress, will you just upload this one photo, already?!).

Word count–> I’m not supposed to go over 500 words, but the last few posts have exceeded my self-imposed word limit. Now, I could go easy on myself and just up the limit to 600 words, but I know me. If I up the word limit, I’ll exceed the word limit. I’d like to tighten my writing–use fewer words and get across a greater meaning.

 

What I’ve noticed:

  • I like stories focused on familial relationships
  • I tend to gravitate toward third person narration
  • The people getting the most attention tend to be females

Stories I’d like to expand:

  • Fubsy– An entire story from the perspective of an inanimate object would be challenging
  • Groggery-I like the idea of a mother-daughter relationship that spans decades
  • Autodidact-The view of success from a supportive mother who feels like a hostage could be interesting
  • Sylvan-Can my character survive against the elements and the bitterness growing within her
  • Psittacism-This idea has been rattling around in my head for a bit

Stories I like (in chronological order):

  • Fubsy
  • Groggery
  • Autodidact
  • Supercilious
  • Sylvan
  • Psittacism

Questions I wrestle with:

  • Can I sustain this?
  • Do I really have time for this?
  • Am I enjoying this?
  • Is it plausible to write daily using the current word of the day, when that word is usually posted eight hours after my day begins?
  • Is there a way to write earlier?
  • Is my tendency toward perfectionism going to cost me my sleep and stress me out?

 

I think I’m going to have to do some research and see how others find time for their passion of writing while working full time. There has to be a way to weave this into my life and still take care of my responsibilities, right?

Hmm… yeah, we’ll just see where this goes…

 

2 thoughts on “Month 1 In Review

Leave a Reply

