Month 3 in Review

Review_Month3

 

Unfortunately this post is two weeks late. (sigh) It’s been a busy month, but to keep up with my goals, here are my reflections for my third month of writing:

Stories I like:

  • Twee
  • Ossify
  • Avuncular
  • Puckish
  • Jeremiad
  • Gonzo
  • Amanuensis

 

Stories I’d like to expand:

  • Jeremiad-The idea of writing a longer piece that could actually portray the tension of doing  the “right thing” only to have the outcome haunt you, feels like an intriguing process. Trying to authentically document the mental inner workings of someone with PTSD will take some talent, skills, and interviewing.
  • Gonzo-Who doesn’t gravitate toward the dystopian society? Maybe it’s just me, but Animal Farm, 1984, Fahrenheit 451 are all classics and I would love to write something that impactful, too. I don’t have a full understanding of where this would go, just yet, but I’m always intrigued by the idea that leaders always want to keep up appearances when everyone knows things are going to Hades in a handbasket.
  • Callow-I want to do something more with this story. It didn’t make it on my “likes” list, but I think with more thought I’d like to structure something that has the two characters growing toward success, even if it looks different for both of them.

 

Questions I wrestle with:

  • How do I get better at writing?
  • How do I ensure I’m spending time writing quality and not just quantity?
  • What do I need to inspire my stories beyond the everyday?

 

What I observed this month:

  • This month’s stories dealt with isolation and death…maybe my internal morbidness is showing.
  • I took a week off to take care of life stuff, so now my posts are about a week behind the Word of the Day posted online. That change has allowed me to write earlier in the day, which helps me manage my schedule better.
  • My stories still have female leads and are mostly within a relational context.
  • I haven’t felt extremely inspired to write daily, but I think the practice of writing when I don’t feel like it is helpful.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

