Sweet Satisfaction

icecreamcone_satisfaction

satisfaction*

  1. an act of satisfying; fulfillment; gratification.
  2. the state of being satisfied; contentment.
  3. the cause or means of being satisfied.
  4. confident acceptance of something as satisfactory, dependable, true, etc.
  5. reparation or compensation, as for a wrong or injury.
  6. the opportunity to redress or right a wrong, as by a duel.
  7. payment or discharge, as of a debt or obligation.
  8. Ecclesiastical. a an act of doing penance or making reparation for venial sin. b the penance or reparation made.

This blog is for my writing and this post was supposed to be my sixth-month review… but I read a REALLY, REALLY good book this month, which I stumbled across after reading excerpts from a book that people said was great that I thought was fairly bad. This was positive in retrospect, because it reinforces what someone told me recently:

Some people love what you write and others don’t. You just need to find those few people who love your work.

After reading some of the book that had received rave reviews and feeling that it wasn’t good and instead was unfulfilling and was subversively promoting pedophilia, which creeped me out, I started searching to find out what other readers were saying about the book. One reviewer didn’t like the book I had rented either and she recommended one that she thought was better. And it was!

I’ve never really thought of reviewing books–and I won’t review the book right now–but maybe in the future I’ll create a recommended reading list and talk more about this author I’ve stumbled across.

I really loved this author’s style and her writing reminds me of my own, in a way–One of my former editors read my work and likened it to Ursula K. Le Guin and Ray Bradbury, neither of whom I’ve read–but her pace was faster and her dialogue was very strong and quick. The book was so good, I plowed through it like it was mint chocolate chip ice cream. And when I’d finished, it was just as satisfying as said dessert.

In summary, renting the book I didn’t like was a good thing, because although I felt it wasted my time and was disappointing, it led me to a really good book that I’d never heard of in my entire life, which is pretty shocking considering it was so good. The author has written other books, so I’m hoping to do some more reading while I have a little bit more time.

And for the record, although I strongly disliked what I read of one book and thoroughly enjoyed the second book, I’m sure both authors are brilliant women who are masters at their craft in different ways. This is a freeing thought because it helps me realize that others may hate what I write and may find it disappointing, but my work being rejected doesn’t mean that I’m being rejected as a writer. I can improve my writing and hone my skills so that a few people can find some enjoyment from what I write.

Maybe I’ll never write something that garners rave reviews, but maybe someone will read it some day after I’m dead and gone, and her mind will be blown by a simple concept and how it’s executed. She’ll find herself engrossed in the story and she’ll be encouraged to go after her own dream of writing strange and fantastic tales, just because she loves it. And she’ll pick up whatever they use to write 50 years from now–I hope there will still be pencils and paper–and she’ll write something brilliant and inspiring for another young woman to read decades later after she’s passed. Maybe…

 

*This post was inspired by a book I read recently and is not part of my flash fiction challenge. I wrote it because I simply wanted to share.

 

 

Leave a Reply

