Month 9 in Review

Review_Month9.jpg

So this month has been busy as usual, but it’s felt a little bit busier than usual. It could be because I’m participating in Nanowrimo for the first time ever, after knowing about it for about a decade now, while trying to keep up with my blog and do everyday life.

Although I feel like it’s been a lot, I didn’t want to give up my blog for a month and get out of the habit of churning out story ideas and writing something different each day.

They say variety is the spice of life, and although I enjoy writing about different things each day–that does keep the blog interesting, from my point of view–I’m continuing to post throughout the month of November simply because I want to finish what I started.

I’m still struggling with my time management, so if anyone has any tips on how you blog regularly and write and submit longer projects without your life falling by the wayside, please let me know!

Now, on to the regular stuff…

Stories I like:

 

Stories I’d like to expand:

  • Bailiwick-In my mind, this would become a short story focused on two former friends putting aside a longstanding feud in order to do the right thing and save lives. Because I like to write about human relationships, I figured I could do that through the lens of a rescue mission that helps facilitate forgiveness.
  • Opuscule-If I have enough material, I’m really thinking this could be a novella and focus on a nun who is also part of secret society that hides endangered people. The idea of taking an extremely flawed character who is supposed to embody innocence and put her in these compromising situations in which she desires to do the right things intrigues me.
  • Rollick-I’d make this story a little bit longer because in my mind this character is really busting through the perceived constraints of her life to actually live and be free to be herself. It can be a hard thing to just be yourself and know that’s enough and really follow your passion, so I’d like to explore that more through this character as she sets off for a year of serving others, far from family and their expectations.
  • Delectation-In life I often find myself observing trees and their life cycle throughout the seasons. There are some seasons in which you feel stagnant like you could be doing more, or there are busy seasons in which you’d rather be resting. And yet I find myself focused on those seasons of transition in which the normal routine of life fades away and you find yourself in the unknown and the new. I’d like to explore that more through the perspective of a tree.

 

Questions I wrestle with:

  • Will I make it to the end?
  • What is the end?
  • How can I make more time in my schedule to write?
  • How can I add some more dimensions to my characters in so few words?
  • How can I challenge myself to write better and differently?

 

What I observed:

I’m still all about the relationships. I liked writing about parents and children and the family dynamics a good bit, but I want to challenge myself to put my characters in crazier situations and see what happens. I’d also like to switch up my writing style a bit more to see what I like best and what works with which types of stories.

All in all, I’d say I’m diong an okay job following through with my goals. I have thoughts on how to challenge myself through my writing and how I present my stories, but I like what’s going on so far. It’s hard to believe it’s been nine months already, but I still find myself excited about finishing flash fiction pieces with different characters in different worlds.

So here’s to another month! Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

